Thursday, December 11, 2008

Well, so much as happened since my last post. The Democrats still feel that the solution to everything is more money with more regulation and total control, or no control. And now we are changing the rules and bypassing the established route for bankrupt companies. Why can't the car companies go that route. It seems to me that they can use Chapter 11 bankruptcy. They could really restructure like they should and recast the labor contracts to bring back into line the benefits. But maybe they don't want to restructure so they went to congress instead. We aren't playing here. This is for keeps. We don't want GM, Ford, or Chrysler to disappear but they need to build viable business. They should have started this as soon as they noticed sales falling off. They are correct that they have ignored the guy buying the car or truck. Styling of off or behind the foreign car manufactures. We started this whole thing yet lost our way. Well this economy is tanked everywhere so now is the retool, and re-invent the design process. Simplify the process so a car can be designed and marked within one year. That way they can take advantage of new designs, inventions, and products to manufacture up to date cars. Imagine that, beat the competitors to the market. Instead of saying boy the Germans really know how to engineer, say the Americans out engineer the Germans and Japanese. We can do it. If we try. But not the way things are now.
Government does have a part of this. Reduce Corporate taxes so Corporations have more money for R&D, promotion and retooling. And reduce the amount of regulation so the companies can be more nimble in responding to market conditions.
More later!

No comments: